Click here to join online

Download this page as a shareable pdf

Members of AFM Local 47 are musicians who teach, perform, and record; who work in clubs, festivals, theaters and concert halls; who work behind the scenes as orchestrators, arrangers, music copyists, songwriters and lyricists. Our work is heard throughout the world in motion pictures and video games, broadcast on television and radio, and streaming on the internet.

Why Join?

Union Membership Makes the Difference

As a professional musician, your real strength comes from working collectively with other musicians. Isolated musicians are more easily exploited and less likely to receive the benefits Local 47 members enjoy — contracts that are more than just pieces of paper, health care and pension, scale wages worthy of professionals, and more.

Serving thousands of professional musicians, Local 47 is a labor union that promotes and protects the concerns of musicians in all areas of the music business.

Located in Hollywood, we represent musicians working in the counties of Los Angeles (except Long Beach), San Bernardino, Riverside and Ventura. Affiliated with the American Federation of Musicians, we negotiate with employers to establish fair wages and working conditions for our members.

Member Benefits Include:

Health Insurance at affordable group rates for all areas of coverage: medical, dental, vision, chiropractic

Pension through the AFM & Employers’ Pension Fund

Referral Service free to members

“All-Risk” Instrument Insurance to protect your instrument and equipment

Rehearsal Rooms as low as $15 per session

Emergency Assistance for traveling musicians

Established Minimum Wages and working conditions

Studio 47, our state-of-the-art 32-track digital recording studio, does everything from tracking to CD mastering/duplication

Musicians’ Interguild Credit Union provides financial services for members at competitive rates

Free Classes & Seminars offered to members year-round

Youth Membership offers a discounted fee for musicians under 21

ProMusic 47 Radio is our online radio station that plays all union music 24/7!

Union Member Discounts from the AFL-CIO Union Privilege program offer special loan, mortgage, credit and legal services, and discounts on everyday purchases

Wage Protection and contract enforcement when an employer fails to pay or defaults on an agreement

Local 47 Member Directory, a convenient resource containing contact information for members listed by name and instrument

Local, National and International Agreements that cover:
• Studio recording
• Concerts
• Stage shows
• TV
• Film
• Video Games
• Jingles
• Symphony
• Opera
• Ballet

Back to top

Our members include:

A Fine Frenzy
Mindi Abair
Alex Acuña
The Airborne Toxic Event
Herb Alpert
Marc Antoine
India Arie
Peter Asher
Avenged Sevenfold
Dan Aykrord
Carla Azar
Burt Bacharach
Band of Horses
Mike Barone
Walter Becker
Jeff Beal
Jeff Bhasker
Roy Bittan
Cedric Bixler-Zavala
Black Eyed Peas
Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
Hal Blaine
Karla Bonoff
Ben Bridwell
Bruce Broughton
Lindsey Buckingham
T Bone Burnett
Kenny Burrell
Café Tacuba
Colbie Caillat
Sean Callery
Glen Campbell
Mike Campbell
Captain & Tennille
Belinda Carlisle
John Howard Carpenter
Richard Carpenter
Lenny Castro
Rob Cavallo
Martin Chalifour
Alf Clausen
John Clayton
Nels Cline
Charlie Clouser
Adam Cohen
Vinnie Colaiuta
Lisa Coleman
Joseph Conlan
Bill Conti
Ry Cooder
Rita Coolidge
Bethany Cosentino (Best Coast)
Counting Crows
David Crosby
Sheryl Crow
The Crystal Method
Burton Cummings
Danger Mouse
Rick Davies
Vincent De Rosa
Brad Dechter
Zooey Deschanel
Alexandre Desplat
C.C. DeVille
Neil Diamond
DJ Homicide
Stephen Dorff
Daryl Dragon
John Du Prez
Jakob Dylan
Sheila E.
Clint Eastwood
Mike Einziger
Mike Elizondo
Cleto Escobedo
Cleto Escobedo III
Melissa Etheridge
Kevin Eubanks
Bob Ezrin
Donald Fagen
Paul Feig
Don Felder
Stacy "Fergie" Ferguson
Fitz and the Tantrums
Michael Fitzpatrick
Mick Fleetwood
Brandon Flowers
Foo Fighters
David Foster
Marti Frederiksen
John Frusciante
Andy Garcia
Siedah Garrett
Bob Gaudio
Grant Gershon
Michael Giacchino
Benny Golson
Goo Goo Dolls
Gordon Goodwin
Alexander Greenwald
Harry Gregson-Williams
Josh Groban
Dave Grohl
Sammy Hagar
Dick Halligan
De'Mar Hamilton
Albert Hammond
Albert Hammond Jr.
Ben Harper
Beth Hart
Lili Haydn
Peter Hayes
Oscar Hernández
David Hodges
Susanna Hoffs
Josh Homme
Hollywood Bowl Orchestra
James Newton Howard
Boney James
Jane's Addiction
Al Jarreau
Shooter Jennings
Jimmy Eat World
John 5
Sir Elton John
Ethan Johns
Nick Jonas
Quincy Jones
Rickie Lee Jones
Laurence Juber
Carol Kaye

John Keane
Lenny Kravitz
Russ Kunkel
LA Chamber Orchestra
LA Philharmonic
LA Opera
Abe Laboriel
Abe Laboriel Jr.
Tommy Lee
Sébastien Lefebvre
John Legend
Jennifer Leitham
Jared Leto
Adam Levine
James Levine
Nils Lofgren
Kenny Loggins
Los Lobos
Nils Lofgren
Demi Lovato
Steve Lukather
Jeff Lynne
Aimee Mann
Maroon 5
Bruno Mars
Mick Mars
Garry Marshall
Max Martin
Steve Martin
Harvey Mason Jr.
John Mayer
John McVie
Brad Mehldau
Randy Meisner
Wendy Melvoin
Jim Messina
Bret Michaels
Blake Mills
Rickey Minor
Joni Mitchell
Tom Morello
Alanis Morissette
Giorgio Moroder
Mike Muir
Dermot Mulroney
Dave Navarro
Robbie Nevil
Joey Newman
Randy Newman
Stevie Nicks
John Ottman
David Paich
Christina Perri
Tom Petty
Greg Phillinganes
Plain White T's
Jean-Luc Ponty
Grace Potter
Trevor Rabin
Matt Rad
Joel Rafael
Bonnie Raitt
Don Randi
Brian Ray
Red Hot Chili Peppers
Jason Reeves
Bill Reynolds
Trent Reznor
Bobby Rodriguez
Henry Rollins
Linda Ronstadt
Dan Rothchild
Royal Crown Revue
Patrice Rushen
John Rzeznik
Richie Sambora
Poncho Sánchez
Jason Schwartzman
Robert C. Schwartzman
Lalo Schifrin
Doc Severinsen
M. Shadows
John Shanks
Harry Shearer
Vonda Shepard
David Shire
Alan Silvestri
Keaton Simons
Mark Snow
Bruce Springsteen
Harry Dean Stanton
Stephen Stills
Steely Dan
Nisan Stewart
Stone Temple Pilots
Alison Sudol
Tierney Sutton
System of a Down
Benmont Tench
Toni Tennille
Robin Thicke
Steve Tyrell
Steve Vai
Alex Van Halen
Eddie Van Halen
Wolfgang Van Halen
Jimmy Vivino
Jason Wade
Tom Waits
Chris Walla
Mervyn Warren
Don Was
Sara Watkins
Mike Watt
Mikey Way
Wendy & Lisa
John Williams
Brian Wilson
Dan Wilson
Bill Withers
The Wrecking Crew
Zakk Wylde
"Weird" Al Yankovic
Sean Yseult
Neil Young
Dweezil Zappa
Hans Zimmer